I jailbroke my iPhone in 2 mins flat.

by rmtwrkr

Using a Powerbook G4 running 10.5.2.

With Zibri’s ZiPhone jailbreak/unlock package.

Using a modified version of the original package (the original package doesn’t work on the Mac) I just stuck my completely standard 1.1.3 OTB iPhone in it’s dock, booted the iPhone into recovery mode (which automatically launched iTunes 7.6), ignored iTunes, opened Terminal, dragged the package into the terminal window appending ‘-j’ for Jailbreak to the end, hit return and then 50 seconds later it was done. That’s it. No mess, no downgrades, no….hassles.

Upon my iPhone rebooting, I could see the Installer.app. Opened it, and installed the BSD subsystem, AFPd, OpenSSH. All went fine. Within 5 mins I was inside the iPhone via the Finder, browsing the directories.

Observations:
I have installed a few native applications, but many just simply don’t work because 1.1.3 doesn’t want to run apps as ‘root’. It needs to be run as ‘mobile’. As a result a great many applications are useless at the moment. Your mileage may vary, but for me I don’t mind, as my main reason to Jailbreak in the first place was to have a look at the filestructure..tinker around. It really is familiar to users of OSX. It really IS OSX.

